Connect with us


P.C. Hooftprijs 2019 for 98-year-old author Marga Minco

Marga Minco has received the P. C. Hooft prize. The 98-year-old author had success with her book The Bitter Herb, which appeared in several languages.

Given the age and health of Minco, the prize will be presented at her home. This happens in January. The prize has been awarded on the recommendation of a jury consisting of Gustaaf Peek, Mathijs Sanders, Daniëlle Serdijn, Vamba Sherif & Franca Treur.

“The novels and stories of Marga Minco shape existential experiences such as fear, guilt, loneliness and a deep but barely expressible desire for security”, is stated in the jury report.

“Without being psychologized, without patheticism or pretension, she makes an inscrutable reality palpable and imaginable.”
Let debut

The P.C. Hooftprijs is one of the most important oeuvre prizes for Dutch-language authors and is awarded annually. The prize is awarded alternately to prose, poetry & essay writers.

Minco received another important award for her oeuvre in 2005: the Constantijn Huygens Prize.

Minco only debuted at the age of 37, before that she worked as a journalist for various newspapers and magazines.


Abdelkader Benali chairman Libris Prize

Former winner of the Libris Literature Prize Abdelkader Benali will chair the jury for the 25th Libris Literature Prize, which will be awarded in 2018.

He will announce on 7 May next year which novel will be the successor of Alfred Birney’s The Interpreter of Java, this year’s award-winning book.

The Libris Literature Prize is the prize for the best Dutch language novel of the past year with a prize money of 65,000 euros in total (2,500 euros for each of the six nominated authors and 50,000 euros for the winner). The winner will also receive a bronze medal, designed by Irma Boom.
Wedding by the sea

Benali, born in Morocco, was nominated for the prize for his debut wedding debut in 1997. He won the Libris Literature Prize in 2003 for The Long-awaited.

Benali will also be connected to TU Delft as a kind of ‘cultural professor’ for over two months next fall. With a group of a few dozen students, he wants to do research into the functions of squares and all the people and stories that go there, the TU announces.

Continue Reading


Murat Isik calls winning Libris Literature Prize ‘a sweet victory’

Murat Isik won the Libris Literature Prize 2018 with his book Wees Inzichtbaar (2017) and thinks that “a sweet victory”, says Isik in a Saturday interview with Het Parool.

“A sweet victory, on the bullies who called me a cleaner, on anyone who did not believe in me and wanted to push me down, in the first place the teachers, on the teacher who forced me to follow Dutch lessons without taking the trouble to See who I was “, he says to the newspaper.

“I discovered that she is still teaching, I am going to send her an e-mail and say,” Do you remember me? “I had to take you from Dutch tutoring and now I have won the Libris Literature Prize.”

Isik is curious how his teacher will respond to his message. “And I hope she will not underestimate students like me, because that is still a big problem in the Netherlands.”

Continue Reading


British writer and Nobel laureate V.S. Naipaul (85) died

The British writer Sir Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul, better known as U.S. Naipaul, died at the age of 85 in his home in London.

His family announced that Saturday, British media reports.

Naipaul is considered one of the most important writers of travel literature in the English language. In the work of Naipaul, the search for its roots is central. Born in Trinidad, he lived in England since the 1950s and studied at the University of Oxford.

In 2001 Naipaul received the Nobel Prize for Literature. He received the prize because he unites ‘sharp discourses and an unwavering critical gaze into works that force us to see the presence of suppressed pasts’.

Continue Reading